8.0 Marine Institute Industry Advisory Committee


Memorial University, including the Marine Institute, has bicameral system of governance with a Senate that oversees academic affairs and a Board of Regents that oversees all other matters. The institutional leader is the president and vice-chancellor, who is supported by the University's administrative leadership.


The Marine Institute also has an Industry Advisor Committee, established by an Act of Legislature, with members appointed by the Board of Regents of the University, that advised the Marine Institute on fisheries and marine related programs and activities.


Captain Sidney Hynes (Chair),
Executive Chairman,
Oceanex Inc.


Kim Keating (Vice-Chair),
Board Chair,
Major Drilling


Captain Anne Miller,
Regional Director,
Incident Management, Atlantic Region,
Canadian Coast Guard


Rebecca Mearns,
Nunavut Arctic College


Dr. Paul Brett,
Vice-President of Memorial University (Marine Institute) pro tempore,
Fisheries and Marine Institute of Memorial University


Aiden Parsons
President, MISU


Jamie Chippett,
Deputy Minister,
Department of Fisheries, Forestry, and Agriculture,
Government of Newfoundland and Labrador


Ross Butler,
Cooke Seafood USA & Wanchese Fish Company


Leonard Pecore,
Founder and Corporate Director,
Genoa Design International Ltd.


Margot Bruce-O'Connell
Public and Government Affairs Manager and Vice President
ExxonMobil Canada


Martin Sullivan,
Ocean Choice International L.P.


William McGillivary
Regional Director General, NL Region
Department of Fisheries and Oceans
Government of Canada


Kendra McDonald
Chief Exeutive Officer,
Canada's Ocean Supercluster