Our Researchers

Our Researchers

As a campus of Memorial University of Newfoundland, the Fisheries and Marine Institute is Canada’s most comprehensive centre for education, training, applied research and industrial support for the ocean industries. Located on the edge of the Atlantic Ocean, Marine Institute is one of the most respected centres of marine learning and applied research in the world.

Marine Institute consists of three Schools – the School of Fisheries, the School of Maritime Studies and the School of Ocean Technology – and within these Schools are a number of specialized centres and units which lead, both nationally and internationally, in applied research, technology transfer and industry training.

Researchers of the Fisheries and Marine Institute are leaders in the ocean and maritime sectors. From collaborating with engineers, social scientists, policy experts, economists and other industry leaders, to publishing peer-reviewed journals and informing policy decisions, our team of researchers and scientists are well-respected industry professionals whose work impacts our understanding of the ocean that surrounds us.

School of Fisheries

Dr. Jillian Westcott



Centre for Aquaculture and Seafood Development (CASD)

Dr. Deepika Dave



Centre for Fisheries Ecosystems Research (CFER)

Dr. Noel Cadigan

Dr. Tyler Eddy

Dr. Jonathan Fisher

Dr. Maxime Geoffroy

Dr. Sherrylynn Rowe



Centre for Sustainable Aquatic Resources (CSAR)

Dr. Paul Winger

Dr. Shannon Bayse

Dr. Scott Grant

Dr. Matthew Robertson

Dr. Tomás Araya-Schmidt



School of Maritime Studies

Dr. Rob Brown

Dr. Steven C. Mallam

Dr. Francis Obeng

Dr. Rose Ricciardelli

Dr. Elizabeth Sanli



School of Ocean Technology

Dr. Susan Caines

Dr. Katleen Robert

Dr. Shawn Pendergast