MI scholarships, awards and bursaries support student success
Thursday, November 22, 2018

The Fisheries and Marine Institute (MI) of Memorial University presented scholarships, awards and bursaries to students during its annual fall ceremony held Nov. 21.

A total of 126 scholarships, awards and bursaries were handed out during the evening event attended by more than 300 people. MI presents awards to students twice a year.

“All of these scholarships, awards and bursaries are very important to the Marine Institute and to our students,” said Glenn Blackwood Vice-President, Memorial University (Marine Institute).

“They reflect the strong connection that we are proud to have with our community of donors, and we are very grateful to them for sharing these scholarship and awards with our students.”

Keely-Shay Lullwitz, a fourth-year student in the underwater vehicles program, received the Chester and Maude Keeping Memorial Scholarship and the Jamie Klein Memorial Award.

“Scholarships have enabled me to focus on my studies and they’ve also given me the opportunity to be involved in the school community,” she said. “I want to sincerely thank the donor families who made these scholarships possible.”Scholarship Ceremony 2018 - main body

Ms. Lullwitz served as academic vice-president with the student union for two years and is a member of the Eastern Edge Robotics team. She has also been a student volunteer at MI events, such as the annual NL Regional MATE Remotely Operated Vehicle Competition and the annual Model Boat Race.

Jason Henricksen, a second-year student in the nautical science program, received the Husky Energy Future Leaders Award.

“Upon winning the award, my initial feelings are those of humility,” he said. “I feel there is an added expectation for me to perform at a higher standard now. I have only gratitude to express towards Husky Energy.”

Mr. Henricksen also received the Algoma Central Corporation Scholarship.

Taking part in this year’s scholarship and awards ceremony were Mr. Blackwood; Leslie Noftall, Registrar of the Institute; Kim Keating, a member of MI’s Industry Advisory Committee and Chief Operating Officer of the Cahill Group; and Angie Clarke, Director of Student Affairs at the Institute.